San Carlos Museum of History
The San Carlos Museum of History is located in downtown San Carlos at 533 Laurel Street. Drop by and learn more about the City of San Carlos and see first hand some of the historical items at the museum. You can call (650) 802-4354 for more information on the San Carlos Museum of History.
Pictured above: San Carlos Girl Scouts from Junior Troop #3136 visit the Museum of San Carlos History.
What's On Display
The newly renovated Museum is housed in a rebuilt fire house and contains many historical displays. The public is welcome to discover artifacts of the Indian and Spanish eras, the early San Carlos families and their homes (Phelps, Hull, Brittan and Drake families), the 1888 Train Depot, photographs of early San Carlos schools and San Carlos High School (1962-1982), the Chickens Ball (begun in 1940 and performed every two years), the Police and Fire Departments, the restored 1927 Seagrave fire engine, and the early electronics firms of San Carlos (Ampex, Lenkurt, and Dalmo Victor to name a few). Of particular interest is a large aerial photo of the town taken in 1947.
Museum Hours & Website
The museum is open every Saturday from 1:00 to 4:00 P.M. as well as during Hometown Days, the Art & Wine Faire and the Heritage Walk. To make arrangements for special tours, please call (650) 802-4354. The museum's web site is located at http://www.sancarloshistorymuseum.org/
Docent Duties & Volunteers
Docent duties at the Museum are performed by the San Carlos Villagers. Membership in the San Carlos Villagers is open to all residents of San Carlos. Duties include greeting the public, conducting docent tours, and answering questions. Anyone interested in becoming a member of the San Carlos Villagers should call (650) 802-4354.